5th grade Names

This was the project that the 5th graders were working on while I worked with a handful of them at a table, completing the 5th grade commemorative project (bottle cap mandalas). It emphasized radial symmetry just like the bottle caps do, and it turned out exceptionally successful! I found this project last year and here is one of the websites where I’ve seen it done, but there are a lot out there that explain the process. You’re basically writing your name once and then doing a fold over pencil rubbing transfer to get it to repeat all over the paper. Here is a YouTube video that shows the process, only with a design instead of a name:

And here is the artwork they came up with. Can you figure out the names?

Names (5) Names (4) Names (3) Names (2) Names (1) Names (15) Names (14) Names (13) Names (12) Names (11) Names (10) Names (9) Names (8) Names (7) Names (6) Names (18) Names (19) Names (20) Names (21) Names (22) Names (16) Names (17)

EDIT: I just added a TON more. And one of my amaaaaaaaaazing volunteers told me she was having a hard time seeing the letters. I guess since I’ve been looking at them for awhile I find it easy to see them, but I thought I’d list all the names. Here they are:

Row 1: Shriya     Kayla
Row 2: Talia        Layla
Row 3: Ilaria        Sam
Row 4: Max          Alice
Row 5: Tori          Katie
Row 6: Adil           Shayan
Row 7: Osito        Jan
Row 8: Alex           Sophia
Row 9: Linds         Megan
Row 10: Tyler       Debika
Row 11: KPD        KAL
(A few students did abbreviations of their name, nicknames, or initials because their names were too long)

I think they turned out great and instead of ending the year with this project, I may start next year with it because it will help me with names at the beginning of the year!! Haha 🙂

signature

2 thoughts on “5th grade Names

Leave a Reply

