4th Grade Weaving

This was an intense project I did the (and am still working on with some) 4th graders. I got the project idea from another teacher, her blog posts are here and they go into detail on the entire process. We didn’t do all the steps she did because she sees her students more frequently, so they were able to work on it faster, and I didn’t want to give everyone real needles to sew on the buttons. I do have larger needles but the needles are TOO large for the buttons. Maybe next year I’ll find some buttons that have bigger holes. That would be a fun extension onto the project. Right now, as-is, it’s about a 5 week project which is LONG.

Concepts:

  • Connections to the world: other contents and processes.
  • Aesthetic Qualities

Objectives:

  • Students will be able to analyze the importance of art not ONLY in an aesthetic quality – but also purpose.
  • Students will be able to understand why we create art – practically speaking.
  • Students will be able to create a woven pocket that will have a purpose and hold an item.

These were a little hard to photograph, but man the color turned out great! I love them, and I think they kids really enjoyed creating something they can use – they were very proud of their artwork!

IMG_9811 IMG_9813 IMG_9815 IMG_9816 IMG_9817 IMG_9818 IMG_9819 IMG_9820 IMG_9821 IMG_9822

(The one student who does have a button on his, took his home and his mom sewed the button on. I asked him to bring it back so I could photograph it. 🙂 Also – I did this project with all 4th grade classes, but also my 3rd grade class that I see two times a week as their “extra” project.)

signature

Leave a Reply

