5th Grade Texture Clay Vessel

I loooooooooved these projects. It covered so many excellent concepts with the students, and everyone was so successful. Art can be hard, but when there are projects that are educational and successful, I call it a win! This idea came from my part-time art teacher, Mrs. Thomas. Students learn the slab rolling process with clay, and building a structure from those slabs. We pressed textures from texture-rubbing plates into the clay, used slipping and scoring method to build up the clay, and learned all about the glazing technique. I showed you my YouTube video here, but I’ll post it again:

I will not apologize for the cheesy music. 🙂

So here are all of the steps, for my fellow teachers who may want to complete this project:

Day 1: Create a small charm, student choose a word that means something to them right now. Incise word into charm, poke hole at the top of the charm. Then I demonstrated how to create the Textured Clay Vessel.

Day 2: Review steps, make vessel.

Day 3: Glaze

Day 4: Glaze

Day 5: Attach charm with string, add string to the other side for details, wrap up clay and take them home! 🙂

This was a very fun project, but I honestly could not have done it without the help from my 2 moms that come in and help. After the students left, they stayed and looked over every single piece to make sure everything was attached properly (since I was teaching Kindergarten, and it’s best to do it while it’s still wet clay). I have the best moms to come in and help! Thank you, wonderful volunteers! Thank you!

And here are their amazing creations! I didn’t get to take as many pictures as I would have liked to, because they wanted to take them home!
clay4 clay5 clay6 clay clay2 clay3

signature

One thought on “5th Grade Texture Clay Vessel

  1. Mrs. Prin says:

    Our students are so talented and fortunate to have someone bring out the art in them! The glazing is beautiful. The charms provide a little detail about the artists. Thank you Mrs. McCormick!

    Like

Leave a Reply

