4th grade Clay Drape Bowls

This is another one of those projects that I feel like is so awesome because everyone is successful. I loved these! And the kids did too! But guess what, they haven’t seen them yet!!! So you’re getting a sneak peak at the finished product. They saw them last week before they went in the kiln, but they haven’t seen them since they came out. Coming in this morning I practically ran to the kiln to see what they looked like! So exciting!!

If you follow me on Instagram, you saw this picture last Friday as I was closing up shop. Here it is zoomed out:

IMG_8705

When clay is painted with glaze it looks very milky/chalky, but then it goes back in the kiln and VOILA!:

Clay Drape Bowls (5)  Clay Drape Bowls (3) Clay Drape Bowls (2)  Clay Drape Bowls (8) Clay Drape Bowls (9)  Clay Drape Bowls (10)

So beautiful! I can’t wait to back them out tomorrow.

Here’s the nitty gritty:

Project Concept:

  • Visual Art Process

Project Objective:

  • Students will be able to review the clay properties and purposes while creating a slab technique drape bowl.
  • Students will practice good brush control when decorating their clay pieces with glaze

Directions:

  1. Using a rolling pin, roll clay into a flat slab, with burlap underneath it. Measure to see if it’s big enough by placing a paper plate over it. If it’s not big enough, continue rolling until it is as big as the paper plate.
  2. Using a clay tool, trace the circular paper plate, cutting off all the extra clay.
  3. Put the clay over top of a cup of some sort (I used the bowls that you get soup in from most Chinese food restaurants).
  4. Let the clay dry on the bowl, forming the shape, then put in the kiln.

Here is a picture of the clay drying on the bowl so you can see what I’m talking about:

Clay Drape Bowls (7)

I’m sure you could picture it in your head, but I’m not very good at picturing things… I’m a visual person (ha! you don’t say?) and need to SEE what you’re talking about.

I talked about ideas on how they wanted to glaze and instructed how they cannot put glaze on the bottom of their bowls or it will completely fuze to my kiln shelf and I will have to use a hammer and chisel to get it off. Not good!

I really am happy with the results of the first two classes artwork. I have two more to go, but if the first two are any indication of the next two, I’m excited for all the end results! But I can’t deny, the process to get there is pretty darn fun too. 🙂

3 thoughts on “4th grade Clay Drape Bowls

  1. Mrs. Prin says:

    These look PROFESSIONAL! Way to go Mrs. McCormick! Thank you for providing experiences that highlight the artist in all of our students!

    Like

Leave a Reply

