K & 1st grade Turkeys!

So I found this idea from another art teacher’s blog that I like to get ideas from. I tweaked a tiny bit. And I did it with some K and 1st grade classes.

First I folded the paper in half for them, then they used a tracer to draw a circle for the turkey’s head. Then, using black oil pastels, they drew a BIG FAT turkey body (because come on, who wants a skinny turkey on Thanksgiving?! Not I!), which was another circle. Then we drew their small legs, which were two straight lines and 3 bumpy lines for their feet. Then I showed them a simple version of drawing feathers – a straight line with 2 curved lines on either side. They could add in details at this point (wattle, eyes, beak, etc.) and then we switched to the colorful oil pastels. I had the students raise their hand and tell me all the different types of lines they could think of, and I switched colors every time I decorated a new leaf. After we drew all those lines with all the different colors, I demonstrated water color painting. We reviewed how not to tap the paintbrush on the cup, but lightly paint the lip/rim of the cup to get the extra water off the brush. Tapping will just cause paint splatter on all our friends’ artwork! That’s not good! Students were supposed to paint each feather different colors (no two colors the same next to each other) to show variety in colors, too! And the final touch was gluing on a colorful feather

Objective:

  • Students will be able to create a drawing of a turkey using lines and shapes. Students will add a variety of colors using oil pastels and water color paint.

Topics/Concepts:

  • Basic shapes combined to make images
  • Line, shape, color

Ummmm, cutest little turkeys ever!

IMG_6510 IMG_6511 IMG_6512 IMG_6513 IMG_6514 IMG_6516 IMG_6517 IMG_6518

Gobble, gobble!!!

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I know I have so much to be thankful for, and I bet you do too! Eat turkey, give hugs, and be happy!

signature

One thought on “K & 1st grade Turkeys!

Leave a Reply

